egg foo young

I have never tried to deny my feelings toward Rachael Ray (I adore her!). And my luck with her? Just keeps getting better.

It was during my time of unemployment several years ago that I happened upon her talk show to see this amazing recipe. That sure was luck.

And then yesterday? I taped her talk show just because Sheldon Cooper was a guest. I mean, seriously. How cute is he?

(picture from rachaelrayshow.com)

And, as fate would have it, the recipe of the day was outstanding. And something I’ve been looking for.

Hello, egg foo young.

I printed the recipe up off the internet. I used it as a guide, but wasn’t married to it.

This is the required bounty:

I think I could have made it in 30 minutes if I’d bought rotisserie chicken, but I had to cook mine up. A little olive oil in a pan.

While it was cooking, I washed everything off and got all my tools together.

Started with the sweet hungarian peppers. I had ’em on hand. I used one and a half.

I’ve never cooked with bok choy before. I thought I might want to do the uber rinse like I do with leeks, so that’s what I did.

And then the chicken was done! It was really thin. I set it aside to cool. And got back to veggie duty.

Started the big bowl of veggies with the peppers…

added a can of water chestnuts, drained and finely chopped

3 scallions, chopped

a handful of shredded carrots

2 handfuls bean sprouts

and then the chicken, all cut up.

Hello, star of the show!

8 eggs, all beaten up.

Add some garlic, some ginger, and some salt and pepper to the eggs.

And then mix it all up!

Heated the pan nice and hot. Add a little bit of vegetable oil. I measured out 1/2 cup for each pancake. I found it worked best if I got most of the veggies out of the cup first and then poured the egg (that sinks to the bottom of the cup) on the middle of the veggie stack. Some of these were really ugly, but I got the hang of it.

Then I started the sauce. A cup of chicken stock…but only pour about half into the little pot because…

you need to add a tablespoon of cornstarch to the rest of it.

Whisk it up nice and add it in.

Add 1/4 cup soy sauce. (I hate fuzzy pictures! When will I learn to take more than one of each step!)

I also added a little sugar.

And a few chunks of ginger. I took these out before serving.

Let that cook, whisking often, while you get the foo youngs cooked up. They take about 3 minutes on each side.

As I was finishing up the last batches and cleaning up a little, I found this in the fridge. I added a few dashes to the gravy. Tasty!

Keep whisking. Take out the ginger and…

Tah-dah! These are SOOO GOOD!

And the best part? The recipe made 10 pancakes, 5 servings of 2 pancakes and gravy..

2 patties = 290 calories. No joke. Amazing stuff.

You must make these.

(And let me know if you have any tips for making them pretty.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “egg foo young

  1. I’ve never been ashamed to love Rach either and I will totally buy what she sells. I’m a magazine subscriber, I have the knives, one cast iron pot…haven’t gone all the way and tried her EVOO though.

  2. Nikki

    YUMMM! I’m gonna have to try these (with tofu!). Thanks for sharing this!!

Leave a Reply

