Nutella!

I’ve looked at a lot of recipes for homemade nutella. And I decided to make the easiest one first.

Verdict? It’s good. It’s sweet enough, but maybe not chocolately enough. It will be my standard go-to homemade nutella recipe. But I want more. I think using melted chocolate would help. But for a first attempt? Success! And for ease? Definite thumbs up.

I didn’t take step-by-step pictures, but I might whenever I do a round 2 “Fancy Nutella” recipe. Which I’m sure I will. (And it may be based on this one by another Lexingtonian.)

(Oh, and the pictures? They all look unattractive. It’s out of my hands.)

3 cups hazelnuts
2/3 cups cocoa powder
1 1/3 cup powdered sugar
pinch of sea salt
1/4 cup grapeseed oil

Preheat oven to 400. Place hazelnuts on a heavy baking sheet. Roast about 10 minutes, stirring every 3, until fragrant. Let nuts cool. Remove the skins by rubbing them between your hands.

Place nuts in a food processor. Process until they form a paste, about 2 minutes. You may have to scrape the bowl a few times.

When the mixture is smooth, add powdered sugar, cocoa, and salt. Process until blended and crumbly.

Add oil and process until combined. Place in an airtight container. Store at room temperature for 3-4 days or in the fridge for longer.

32 servings, 1 tablespoon each.

Nutritional info (per tablespoon): 129 calories; 8.4g fat; 13.3g carb;  1.5g fiber; 2g protein.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Nutella!

  1. this is just wrong. I wonder why the grapeseed oil? I think I have flax seed. I’m wonder how this would taste with sucanat.

  2. The oil is just to make it smoother – totally not necessary. Grapeseed because it is very neutral and doesn’t really alter the taste. But it makes it refrigerateable (great word!) without getting really firm.

    And it’s best a few days later. It gets smoother. And fantastic.

Leave a Reply

